Boozy & fruity poultry liver salad

This is the first post for a very long time, due to a complete lack of motivation from my side. The reason being the combination of the absence of a (digital) camera and the summer months, which kept me preparing fresh and easy things (salads, grilling on weekends, sandwiches) not very worthy of a blog post.

smallbbq

I now have a pretty sweet cam. Still not much motivation to bake cakes, but I have a renewed passion for meat after watching a rather sick show that was recommended to me by a friend.

hannibal

Obviously, my cooking skills are not as advanced and the origin of the meat is much less ambiguous (although industrial animal farming isn’t all that pretty either).
Liver salad is a standard French fare (very common with kidneys as well), and I’ve got inspired by the nice supply at the supermarket (I went earlier than usual and I must say, the meat supplies disappear surprisingly fast on Saturdays) and thought I’d make it a “flambé” using some of the cheap bourbon that is hidden in my kitchen. Then, reading this, I’ve found that adding apples wasn’t a bad idea (since I had bought 2kg along with my groceries). I admit that this mix calls for shallots, but I didn’t get them in the first place, so I’m instead using spring onions (although I had red onions, which would have been a better call). And I skip the butter in this recipe as I’m looking for something a bit lighter.

smallliver1

Ingredients (serves 2 if it’s a main and 3 to 4 if it’s a starter)

  • 3 small apples (I’m using Gala, which are more on the sweet side)
  • 300g chicken liver
  • 2 shallots or 1 red onion or 2 spring onions
  • Some salad (I had Batavia, but any form of lettuce works, as well as mâche – I wouldn’t recommend rucola, but if you’re a die-hard rucola eater, go for it)
  • 4 cl bourbon (any brown liquor works)
  • A little bit of oil and vinegar (sunflower oil works well as it’s rather neutral, I’ve used an apple vinegar but any vaguely fruity vinegar is fine)
  • Ground pepper and maybe parsley or broccoli sprouts (not that I had the last two)

smallliver2

Instructions

  • Clean the liver, cut the threads off and cut in 3 to 4cm pieces
  • Peel and slice the apples relatively thin (16 slices each)

smallliver3

  • Slice the onion(s)/shallots
  • Heat up a little bit of oil in a frying pan
  • When hot, put the onion/shallot and let it sweat (if you’ve got spring onions, go to next step right away)
  • Put the apples in and let it cook for a few minutes, steering regularly until the apples are softer

smallliver4

  • Set aside, and on the empty pan, pour little more oil
  • Once hot, put in the liver and let it darken on the outside while steering well

smallliver5

  • When only a little pink can still be seen on the liver, put the apples back in, pour the alcohol and set on fire, using a match (don’t wait after pouring or the alcohol will evaporate)

smallliver6

  • Remove from fire, let it cool down a little and grind pepper on top
  • Place on top of the salad, sprinkle a few spoons vinegar and add the parsley/sprouts

smallliver7

Leave a Reply

