Slightly sour bread with a pinch of rye

This recipe is a bit more complex than the previous ones, but I’ve tried it three times already, not respecting every step as described and it turned out pretty well, even though the taste wasn’t always the same. The recipe is is based on this one and I’ve simplified the parts that I think can be skipped. I’m not using a Dutch oven as I don’t have one. Instead, I’m using a simple oven-proof sauce pan. As it’s only 20 cm wide, I’ve halved the ingredients, but feel free to double everything (as per the original recipe) if you have a bigger one.

DSC_0018small

Ingredients: poolish

  • 6g from your yeast culture
  • 24g water
  • 24g 550 flour
  • 6g rye flour

Ingredients: final dough

  • 200g 550 flour
  • 18g rye flour
  • 170g water
  • 5g sea salt (but I regularly use a bit less)
  • your poolish

Instructions

  • Mix all ingredients for your poolish and leave 7 to 9 hours at room temperature
  • Mix by hand the flours and water for you final dough  and leave to rest for 30 minutes

DSC_0006small

  • Add the salt and the poolish
  • Wet your finger tips and pinch the dough, folding it over and over again
  • Leave to rest for at least 20 minutes (I already left it for several hours and it still works fine) and repeat 2 or 3 times, with a rest every time in between (at this stage, keep a wet cloth or a plastic wrap above your mixing bowl, to avoid the drying of the dough)
  • Leave to rest, 12 to 15 hours (I’ve left it longer at this stage the last time I’ve made it, and it worked fine – from experience, I’d assume that leaving it only 8 hours would work as well, although it might develop less of the sour flavour)
  • Place in a proofing basket for 3 to 4 hours, or until the mark disappears very slowly when poking the dough with a finger. I’ve already left it overnight at this stage, and it ended up a bit more compact and much more sour. Not as good from my perspective, but some like it better this way. I don’t have a proofing basket, so I’m leaving the dough in a smallish strainer in which I’ve put a cloth covered in cornmeal. I’m then sprinkling some cornmeal on top of the dough and folding the cloth on top.

DSC_0009small

  • Put a baking paper in your pan, the lid on and in the oven. Pre-heat the oven to 245°C, with the pan inside.
  • When the oven is ready, remove the pan carefully and drop the dough inside the hot pan.

DSC_0011small

  • Place the lid on and back in the oven for 30 minutes
  • Remove the lid and keep baking for an extra 30 minutes

DSC_0014small

2 responses to “Slightly sour bread with a pinch of rye

  1. I thought this was a pleasant bread (and fund to join in the Plötziade). Under not so strict requirements I would have probably added some seeds or nuts.
    If you don’t have a Dutch oven, a pie pan or cake pan works to keep the bread from spreading too much, too, you only have to steam the oven then to create the humid environment a closed DO provides.

    • Oh, perfect, I had spread water in the oven for other breads as well but didn’t understand it was doing exactly the same as the dutch oven. I might stick the this from now on.

Leave a Reply

